Govt nominates representatives for syndicates of 13 universities

BHUBANESWAR: The higher education department has nominated its officials to attend Syndicate meetings of 13 state public universities in the state as ex-officio members in absence of the higher education secretary.
The officers can attend the Syndicate meetings according to the provision contained in section 10 of the Odisha Universities Act’ 1989 amended in the year 2020. Names of representatives were communicated to the universities on Saturday.
Syndicate is the highest decision-making body of a university. It gives approval to many decisions taken by the university authorities. After amendment of the Odisha Universities Act, the Syndicate, instead of the Senate, will function as the highest authority in universities. As the Senate was becoming dysfunctional day by day, the concept of Senate was abolished.
The government changes these ex-officio members from time to time. Higher education department additional secretary Birendra Korkora will attend Syndicate meetings of the Utkal University at Bhubaneswar and Ravenshaw University at Cuttack as ex-officio member in absence of the department secretary. Similarly, higher education department director Nivedita Mishra has been selected for Madhusudan Law University at Cuttack.
Department’s special secretary Prasanta Kumar Rath has been nominated for Fakir Mohan University Balasore and Maharaj Sriram Chandra Bhanja Deo University Baripada. Similarly, joint secretary Prativa Sahoo will attend Syndicate meetings of Sambalpur University and Shree Jagannath Sanskrit University.
Joint secretary Snigdha Champatiray is the representative for Rama Devi Women’s University, while joint secretary Dhirendra Nath Kar is selected for Khallikote Unitary University Berhampur. Deputy director Rajat Kumar Mansingh has been nominated for Kalahandi University at Bhawanipatna.
Special secretary Pradip Kumar Mishra has been nominated for Berhampur University. Additional secretary Ramakanta Nayak has been chosen for Gangadhar Meher University Sambalpur, while additional secretary Manoranjan Nayak will attend Syndicate meetings of Rajendra University Balangir.